Welcome to The Hall of Fame  



May 14, 2004 - Reno, Nevada: On April 27th, the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame (ORMHOF) voting committee assembled for the first time in 28 years to review nominees for 2004 induction into ORMHOF. The nominations, which were submitted through a variety of groups, associations, sanctioning bodies, and event promoters from the off-road community throughout the US, were reviewed by a voting committee which included members from Off-Road Racing, 4-Wheeling, Rally and Sand Sports. There were six individuals inducted into the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame for 2004 and they are:

Herman H. Booy: Sand Sports. Known throughout Sand Sports as the “Abominable Sandman”, Herman has been instrumental in every aspect of Sand Sports as a builder, driver, promotor and innovator since the early sixties. A long-time resident of San Jacinto, Cailf., Herman has worked as a builder and mechanic for Roger Mears and Larry Minor, among others. He developed paddle tires for use in sand racing, built a long list of winning sand buggies and Jeeps and worked with sanctioning bodies to standardize the rules for Sand Drag racing. Herman also drove hilllclimbs and sand drags and is named in the Guiness Book of World Records as the top speed record holder on sand over a 100 yard distance.

Carla Boucher: 4-Wheeling. Carla is a the president of Tidewater Four-wheelers, a FWD club based in Virginia Beach, Virginia. Although Carla has been actively involved in local club activity since driving her first fourwheel drive vehicle in 1981, it is her many accomplishments as a land-use attorney for the United Four Wheel Drive Associations that brought her to the attention of the voting committee. While the list of Carla’s contributions to OHV access and recreational use is too lengthy to detail in a press release, it is safe to say that if you use public lands for just about any purpose, she has had a hand in protecting your right to access those lands. Carla has done much of this work pro bono having donated thousands of hours of her time to the United Four Wheel Drive Associations and the OHV community at large.

John Buffum: Pro Rally. A legend in professional Rally Racing, John Buffum is the most successful Pro Rally driver in history with 117 National Event Wins and 11 SCCA Series Championships including an undefeated season in 1987. Buffum is also the only American Rally driver to ever win a European Championship event winning the 1983 Sachs Rally in Germany and followed that up by winning the Cyprus Rally in 1984. After retiring as a full time driver in 1988, his Colchester, Vermont based Libra Racing continues winning championships, taking the SCCA PRO Rally series seven times in Buffum-prepared and managed Audi Quattro S-2, Hyundai Elantra, and Hyundai Tiburon vehicles with Paul Choiniere at the wheel.

Jean Calvin: Journalist. Jean Calvin passed away in 1997 from complications surrounding injuries she received while racing in the 1989 Baja 500. She was a fierce competitor and entered her first off-road race at the 1969 Mint 400. Jean also was a regular entry in the Western Rally series, SCCA Pro-Rally and spent 20 years racing in SCORE, HDRA and SNORE races, in buggies. In the 70’s Jean was an associate editor with Peterson’s Sports Car Graphic Magazine, freelanced for Hot VW’s Mag. and put out SCORE News for the members of SCORE International for some years. In 1983, Jean put out the first issue of Dusty Times, a monthly publication which covered offroad racing around the country and rally racing around the world. In no time, Dusty Times became the bible of offroad racing and every racer would seek her out after the race to let her know how they did. There was no one quite like Jean. She loved off-road motorsports and the people in it. From the time she suffered the accident in 1989 until her death in 1997, she went through a tremendous amount of pain and suffering personally, but the Dusty Times always met the deadline. We honor Jean Calvin not only for her many accomplishments but for her courage and her spirit.

Edward W. Dunkley: Four Wheeling. As a member of the California Association of Four-Wheel Drive Clubs for 41 years, Ed Dunkley helped mold the CA4WDC into the organization that it is today. He was a major influence in the formation of the CA4WDC Conservation & Education Foundation. Ed started the Sacramento Jeepers in 1958, the Hi Rock Trekkers in the early 80’s and several other clubs, all active in event management and land use issues to this day. Ed was the founder of numerous successful events including the CA4WDC ‘Sierra Trek’, the ‘Lassen-Applegate Wagon Historic Trail 4WD Tour’ and the ‘Winter Fun Fest’, an event which draws well over 600 participants every year. He attended all of the Government Land Use meetings where he spoke up for 4-wheelers everywhere. It is because of dedicated people like Ed Dunkley that we still have trails open today. Ed past away in 2001.

Walker Evans: Off-Road Racing. Known to off-road racing fans as “the Legend”, Walker Evans career spans 35 years and there is little doubt that he has been one of the most exciting and successful drivers in off-road racing. Winner of 144 victories and 21 championships in Desert and Closed Course events, Walker won the Baja 1000 five times and was the first driver to ever win the event overall in a truck. Walker began his off-road racing career in 1969 driving for James Garner’s AMC Team in a Rambler sedan. After finishing third he “got serious about off-road racing”, began building off-road trucks in his Riverside, California shop and started winning races. In addition to his phenomenal success in the desert, Walker achieved considerable success in the now defunct, Mickey Thompson Stadium Series (MTEG) and took 31 class wins and two championships in the Midwestern short course SODA Series from 1986 to 1997. In his last two years in off-road racing, Walker added 5 wins in the Championship Off-Road Racing Series to his already illustrious career and capped it off with the COOR Pro-4 Championship in 1999. Although Evans retired from off-road racing in 2000, he continues to win in Rock Crawling events, which he enters on occasion.

The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is located in Reno, in building four at the National Automobile Museum (The Harrah Collection). ORMHOF has 21 original members, 16 inducted in 1976 and Five more in 1980. On June 26, 2004 there will be an Induction Ceremony at the National Auto Museum, in Reno, to honor this year’s six new inductees, bringing the total number of ORMHOF members to 27.


Site Created by " Dills Media "